From Wharton – How Coursera is changing Education

Recently, I decided to embark on a quest to broaden my knowledge on a new topic that is completely unrelated to my job or career. After looking around for short-term courses offered by local universities, I stumbled on to Coursera. And within no time, I enrolled myself into a course on Operations Management conducted by a Professor from the Wharton Business School! I couldn’t believe my luck and I was imagining how my niece and nephew will one day proudly proclaim that their uncle completed a course from the Wharton Business School. I was on a high. But the high lasted exactly 3 weeks. Work pressures and other commitments derailed my efforts to complete this course and its all curtains for now.

Not withstanding the rather disappointing turn of events, I am very impressed by what MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses) have accomplished in a short time frame. They are opening up opportunities for professionals as well as students in ways that was never thought possible. Anybody can sign up for a course in Coursera and all it takes is good bandwidth and persistence to complete the course. I see MOOCs as the way forward to opening up quality higher education to the large section of the population that cannot afford to go to premier schools.

I also happen to listen to Knowledge @ Wharton podcast in iTunes. Here is an interview with Daphne Koller, co-founder of Coursera (as heard in the podcast). Koller discusses the MOOC model in-depth and throws light on certain key data that reflects the current usage patters. Interesting interview indeed.

Srinivas Krishnaswamy

I love to read and share thoughts on technology, enterprise learning, mobile and any thing cool that impacts enterprises.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Education
One comment on “From Wharton – How Coursera is changing Education
  1. I suspect there are quite a few people out there like you. MOOCs are all hype at this point. It’s hard to feel like you are a part of anything, is it?

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 620 other followers

