5 eLearning Wishes for Christmas!

When I went to bed last evening, I was thinking about my wishes for Santa this year. The reason I started thinking about Santa was not because it’s Christmas, but because I live in an apartment. I was actually chuckling thinking about Jeff Dunham’s comic routine.  Earlier in the day, I was watching Jeff Dunham’s show when Peanut (Jeff Dunham’s muse) asks the question about how Santa manages to break into apartments where there are no chimneys!

About 6-months back, I made a headlong plunge into the learning and training industry after a long courtship that involved eLearning product development and very little interaction with the end users of the products. I was working with engineers in the past, and now I have the opportunity to work with end-users. In fact, my brief encounter with one such “user” of eLearning content prompted me to start blogging. Check out my very first article here. It has been an exciting 6 months and I have had an opportunity to understand what is driving the industry and some of the challenges that we are trying to overcome to make learning meaningful for children and adults. If Santa were to somehow make it into my apartment, he will find a note with the following wishes.

Wish 1: Give us the wisdom and foresight to question established content creation practices for eLearning. Death by eLearning content should come to an end in 2012.

Wish 2: Smartphones and tablets will have the intelligence built-in to automatically reject learning content that is just an abridged version of eLearning content created for the PC.

Wish 3: Legal departments will find ways to approve enterprise collaboration platforms and not shoot them down. Don Tapscott, the author of Wikinomics, rightly said “collaborate or perish”. Legal departments won’t have companies to defend if they hinder collaboration.

Wish 4: LMS implementation and ongoing support should be 10-times easier. Hopefully, we will all spend our time worrying about learning impact on business performance as opposed to getting the learning infrastructure up and running.

Wish 5: My last wish is for schools. The practice of teachers spending money, from their pockets, for buying teaching aids and technology tools should stop. I am sure this great country can find a few extra Dollars from somewhere else.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays!

Srinivas Krishnaswamy

I love to read and share thoughts on technology, enterprise learning, mobile and any thing cool that impacts enterprises.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in Teaching, Training
2 comments on “5 eLearning Wishes for Christmas!
  1. […] eLearning product development and very little interaction with the end users of the products.Via learningpilgrims.wordpress.com Bookmark on Delicious Recommend on Facebook Share on Linkedin Share on technorati Tweet about it […]

  2. […] I can’t wait for 2013 and beyond to see if any of this fantasy actually becomes the norm. In any case, you can add personalized learning experience to my wish list for Christmas! […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Archives
